External Scientific Advisory Board

Formed in 2001, the External Scientific Advisory Board (ESAB) serves a key role in MUSC Hollings Cancer Center's planning and evaluation of its research programs and supporting research infrastructure. The ESAB is comprised of nationally-recognized leaders in cancer research and treatment, including current and former directors of cancer centers, national experts in areas of cancer research that match Hollings' research programs, and an experienced cancer center administrator.

Howard H. Bailey, M.D. — Chair

Director, UW Carbone Cancer Center
Associate Dean for Oncology
University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health

Lisa M. Coussens, M.D. (h.c.), Ph.D., FAACR, FAIO

Deputy Director for Basic & Translational Research
Chair, Department of Cell, Developmental and Cancer Biology
Knight Cancer Institute
Oregon Health & Science University

B. Mark Evers, M.D., FACS

Professor and Vice-Chair for Research, Department of Surgery
Physician in Chief, Oncology Service
Director, Markey Cancer Center
University of Kentucky

Ernest Hawk, M.D., MPH

Vice President and Division Head
Division of Cancer Prevention & Population Sciences
T. Boone Pickens Distinguished Chair for Early Prevention of Cancer
MD Anderson Cancer Center

Timothy Hla, Ph.D.

Investigator, Vascular Biology Program, Boston Children's Hospital
Patricia K. Donahoe Professor, Surgery, Harvard Medical School
Dana-Farber/Harvard Cancer Center

Kimberly F. Kerstann, Ph.D.

Chief Administrative Officer
Associate Director, Administration
Winship Cancer Institute
Emory University

Anita Kinney, Ph.D., RN

Professor, Department of Biostatistics and Epidemiology
Director, Center for Cancer Health Equity, School of Public Health
Associate Director for Cancer Health Equity & Engagement
Rutgers Cancer Institute of New Jersey

Christopher I. Li, M.D., Ph.D.

Associate Director for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
Vice President, Faculty Affairs and Diversity
Professor, Public Health Sciences Division
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center

Ruben A. Mesa, M.D., FACP

President, Enterprise Cancer Service Line Atrium Health
Senior Vice President, Atrium Health
Vice Dean for Cancer Programs, Wake Forest School of Medicine
Professor of Medicine, Wake Forest School of Medicine
Executive Director, Atrium Health Wake Forest Baptist Comprehensive Cancer Center

Motomi Mori, Ph.D., MBA

Chair, Department of Biostatistics
Director, Biostatistics Shared Resource
St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

Julie C. Schaum, MS

Sr. Director for Research Administration
Associate Director, Administration
Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center

Danny R. Welch, Ph.D.

Professor & Founding Chair, Department of Cancer Biology
Hall Family Professorship in Molecular Medicine
Associate Director for Education
Deputy Editor – Reviews, Cancer Research
The University of Kansas Cancer Center

Eileen White, Ph.D.

Deputy Director & Chief Scientific Officer, Rutgers Cancer Institute
Associate Director of the Ludwig Princeton Branch of the Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research at Princeton University 
Board of Governors Professor of Molecular Biology and Biochemistry, Rutgers School of Arts and Sciences

Cheryl Willman, M.D.

Executive Director, Mayo Clinic Cancer Center Programs: Mayo Rochester/Midwest, Mayo Arizona, Mayo Florida, London, Abu Dhabi
Director, Mayo Clinic Comprehensive Cancer Center
Professor of Laboratory Medicine and Pathology, College of Medicine
Mayo Clinic Comprehensive Cancer Center