Hollings Distinguished Lecture Series

The MUSC Hollings Cancer Center Distinguished Lecture Series features talks on the latest discoveries in cancer research from leading experts at institutions around the country. Lectures take place in Hollings Room 120 at 12 p.m. unless otherwise noted. Some lectures also have the option to attend via Microsoft Teams.

Upcoming 2024 Lectures

August 30, 2024

Russell Jones, Ph.D.
Chair, Department of Metabolism and Nutritional Programming
Van Andel Institute

September 27, 2024

Paul A. Northcott, Ph.D.
Endowed Chair in Molecular Neuro-Oncology
Director, Center of Excellence in Neuro-Oncology Sciences (CENOS)
Member, Department of Developmental Neurobiology
Member, Neurobiology & Brain Tumor Program
St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

October 25, 2024

Richard C. Koya, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor, University of Chicago School of Medicine
Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Biological Sciences Division
Director of the cGMP Vector Development & Production
University of Chicago Comprehensive Cancer Center

November 8, 2024

William M. Klein, Ph.D.
Associate Director
Behavioral Research Program
National Cancer Institute

December 6, 2024

John F. Hancock, MA, MB, BChir, Ph.D., ScD, MRCP, FRACP
Executive Dean
H. Wayne Hightower Distinguished Professor in the Medical Sciences
Executive Director, The Brown Foundation Institute of Molecular Medicine
John S. Dunn Distinguished University Chair in Physiology and Medicine
The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston

Past 2024 Lectures

“Strategies to Reprogram Myeloid Cell-mediated Immune Suppression in Cancer Hosts”

June 28, 2024

Paulo C. Rodriguez, Ph.D.
Senior Member
Chair, Department of Immunology
Co-Leader, Immuno-Oncology Program
Moffitt Cancer Center

"Genetic Drivers in Pancreatic Cancer"

May 31, 2024

Azeddine Atfi, Ph.D.
Leader, Cancer Biology Program
VCU Massey Cancer Center
Mary Anderson Harrison Distinguished Professor in Cancer Research
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Department
Virginia Commonwealth University

"Differential Functions of KRAS Splice Variants"

April 26, 2024

Mark R. Philips, M.D.
Professor of Medicine; Cell Biology; and Biochemistry & Molecular Pharmacology
Associate Director, NYU Perlmutter Cancer Center
NYU Grossman School of Medicine

"Unleashing the immune system against triple-negative breast cancer through inactivating the Hsp90 chaperoning machine"

February 23, 2024

Ahmed Chadli, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
Member, Molecular Oncology & Biomarkers Research Program, Georgia Cancer Center
Medical College of Georgia
Augusta University

"Advancing Cancer Population Sciences at HCC: SC-SPOT (Catchment Area Dataviz tool) and Big Databases"

January 26, 2024

Kelly Sonawane, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Public Health Sciences
Member, Cancer Prevention & Control Program
MUSC Hollings Cancer Center
Medical University of South Carolina